Georg Dobler quote: “I can go forward or I can go back…”

“Aging also gives him [Georg Dobler] license to depart from the usual trajectory of the avant-garde, which presupposes that the new is always an improvement on the old. “I can go forward or I can go back. I go left and right, ” Dobler says. “I make quotations from my own work of years past, and I incorporate new influences from today. I do not have a plan; aesthetic is the aim.” (41)
Harris, Patricia, and David Lyon. “Georg Dobler: the natural.” Metalsmith, Vol. 32, No.1, 2012, pgs 34 – 41.

8 thoughts on “Georg Dobler quote: “I can go forward or I can go back…”

  1. I like that, keep moving forward and discovering new things while incorporating the knowledge you already have accumulated.

  2. Excellent. He is truly avant-garde. Too often those who claim the association contradict it by being in lock-step with others who also merely claim to be so progressive! The past is prologue to the future, someone once said, and Dobler comprehends that “Where memory ends, history begins” (Aldo Rossi) and uses all of his resources whether from memory or history. Bravo!

Leave a Reply

