Irianna Kanellopoulou quote: “I am so inspired by the small …”

“I am so inspired by the small details, how inanimate objects can take on personalities of their own; how there is ‘life’ in inanimate objects, emotional and memory triggers and responses. The idea of role-play and projecting ourselves onto inanimate objects also holds a fascination for me, and one that I believe we never really and totally grow out of.” (20-21)

 

Walton, Inga. “The Miniature Worlds of Irianna Kanellopoulou.” Ceramics Art and Perception. Issue 85, 2011. pgs 19 – 23

5 thoughts on “Irianna Kanellopoulou quote: “I am so inspired by the small …”

  1. I adored very tiny things as a child, such as the photos in your post. I did project personalities onto them and became very absorbed. In a symbolist painting in progress right now, I have included some of my miniature childhood toys as a way of depicting…perhaps a longing for control. When you have a miniature world, it’s sort of like playing God, and maybe that’s why children love them, and that eventually grows into art. Excellent post, and I haven’t had the chance, I don’t think, to say how much I enjoy your entire blog. I love your style! 🙂

  2. I heart miniatures and have collection of miniature bears that I still hold dearly and bring them out from time to time to enjoy. It’s about connection to the past, as a child. It’s nice strolls down the memory lane.

  3. What a wonderful quote. I was fascinated by miniatures as a child. These days I delight in breaking down my world into tiny details; I am constantly cropping scenes i witness into tiny vignettes and drinking them in with my eyes. The tendril of a vine gripping a wall… the color combinations of ordinary objects placed near each other… the lines on the face of a stranger deep in conversation. There is so much beauty to be found in the little things.

Leave a Reply

