Arno Rafael Minkkinen quote: “I think photography piles up the limitations … “

“I think photography piles up the limitations more than any other medium I know, which is why for me photography is such an exciting and vital tool of expression. But it comes with the caveat: Murphy’s Law is built into the bones of every camera I have ever owned. And the limitations aren’t just mechanical. Everything about photography is a challenge. In 30 seconds, the sun will be down. Quick before the dog comes in and all the dust lands you know where. Just when everything is perfect, the camera needs reloading. I know, shoot digital, dummy.

To outwit the calamities, I have learned to formulate a partnership with spontaneity. Allowing limitations to become idea generators instead of idea killers means opening oneself up to creative solutions we might ordinarily never have known, nor anticipated.” (41)

 

Joslin, Russell. “Arno Rafael Minkkinen” [an interview]. Shots, no. 113, Autumn 2011, pgs 37 – 45

5 thoughts on “Arno Rafael Minkkinen quote: “I think photography piles up the limitations … “

  1. This is a photographer I didn’t know but am excited to discover, thanks to you. His statement:
    “To outwit the calamities, I have learned to formulate a partnership with spontaneity. Allowing limitations to become idea generators instead of idea killers means opening oneself up to creative solutions we might ordinarily never have known, nor anticipated.”
    plays with the creative process I live by (although if I had written it I might have substituted – To NURTURE the calamities!
    I look forward to seeing his art.

  2. Yeah, the “To outwit the calamity . . . ” idea . . . well, let’s just say, Microsoft Word and I have no idea what words or ideas are going to hit the page when I begin to write. And canvases and I have an understanding that whatever colors hit them first, that said canvases will not make worried fun of me until I’ve finished! I fly by the seat of my pants . . . always.

Leave a Reply

